SCHOOL DISTRICT OF WEST DE PERE REGULAR BOARD MEETING PHANTOM KNIGHT CHARTER SCHOOL April 15, 2024 5:30 PM

Board members present: Fuss, Borley, Van Den Heuvel, Dorn, Van Deurzen

Board members excused: None

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 PM by Board President Fuss followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. President Fuss stated that the area news media had been notified of the meeting as required by open meeting law and state statutes.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley to accept the agenda. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board recognized Golden Apple Winner: Carley Shier, Herb Kohl Teacher Fellowship Winners: Andrea Dernbach, Bethany Counard, Lisa Boyd, Angie Moeller and Herb Kohl Principal Leader Winner: Kathy Held. Phantom Knight Charter School: Louis Deleon, student, presented their project to the Board. The Board applauded their outstanding accomplishments.

The meeting was opened to the floor to enable district residents to bring items of general concern to the attention of the Board. No concerns were expressed.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel that the March 13, 2024 regular meeting minutes be approved as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel that the Treasurer's Report be approved. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen that previously paid bills to Vos Electric, VDH Electric, and Best Built be approved. Motion carried. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Ryan Van Den Heuvel abstained. Motion carried.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen that previously paid bills be approved excluding bills from Vos Electric, VDH Electric, and Best Built. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Old Business

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Jason Dorn to adopt the following policies as previously presented:

- 5005 Student Admissions
- 8116 School Board Evaluation System
- 8116 (E) School Board Evaluation Form Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

New Business

Committee Chair, Scott Borley gave a verbal update regarding the Finance Committee Meeting.

Committee Chair, Barbara Van Deurzen reviewed the April 11, 2024 Curriculum and Policy Committee report.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen to approve the resolution authorizing the transfer of funds, the establishment of an escrow account with respect to and the defeasance of certain of the general obligation corporate purpose bonds, series 2019, dated April 11, 2019. Voting Yes: Van Den Heuvel, Fuss, Borley, Dorn, Van Deurzen Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Administration and staff from the High School spoke to the Board about the High School Tech Education programs and facilities. They stressed the need for additional/enhanced programming along with possibly expanding facilities to be able to accommodate all students and courses while providing up-to-date technology. The Board asked for further information and requested to move the May 15, 2024 regular board meeting to the High School allowing them to tour the facilities.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley to approve the future board meeting dates as presented with several changes. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve staffing items as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board was presented with various reports and communications: such as updates, various thank you's, invitations, and calendar items. Discussion Followed.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley at 6:31 PM that the Board adjourn into closed session as previously stated. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board reconvened at 7:26 PM.

It was moved by Scott Borley seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to hire Kristin Krahn as the Westwood Elementary School Principal effective July 1, 2024 as discussed in closed session. Motion carried.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Jason Dorn at 7:27 PM that the meeting be adjourned. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Barbara Van Deurzen Clerk